Week 3 – Activity – Social Photography

IMG_4431

When I saw that we would be using Instagram for an activity in this class I got really excited. It’s an excuse to use Instagram for educational purposes, who wouldn’t be excited? However, once the time came I became less excited because I realized I barely use Instagram now. Also, I’m not the type of person to take pictures of everything because I care too much about what people think. I think if I take a picture in the middle of campus that everyone is going to stop and judge me when in reality only maybe 3 people saw me. However, I made it work for the sake of my grade. I made an entire new Instagram account for this activity because like I said, I barely use Instagram and if I were to post random things throughout the day people might get tired of me and even unfollow me.

.          Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.50.04 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.49.04 PM Screen Shot 2015-09-13 at 8.50.17 PM

As I posted pictures throughout the day I also checked the hashtag once in a while. It’s no secret that CSULB is a commuter school but I was really surprised to notice how many people come from the same areas and take the same route as me. I live on the borderline of Compton and Los Angeles and when I saw someone post a picture of  Compton Boulevard I felt like I grew up with the person.

FullSizeRender-2
Instagram: @ramirezana31

The very first picture in the hashtag I saw was a group of people eating at Class 302 in Cerritos. I attended high school in Cerritos and Class 302 is very popular amongst the kids of Cerritos so it was refreshing to see a familiar place. I also noticed a trend in late night posts. A lot of people were ending their night with “Netflix & Chill.” The term itself has another meaning behind it but it’s basically just watching Netflix and relaxing after a long day of classes.

FullSizeRender
Instagram: @kelvinjapco
FullSizeRender-1
Instagram: @stephchanggg

I really enjoyed this activity. I’ve never done something like this on purpose. I always look at hashtags of certain places that I am at (e.g. Disneyland, concerts) but I never analyze the situation how I am currently doing. Now every time I check a hashtag I will be compelled to analyze it 🙂

Leave a Reply

