Week 5 – Activity – Ethnography

IMG_4731
I planned to be at my desk (plus a candle, minus the laptop and lamp) catching up on some homework on this night of no electricity.

This week our activity was to spend a night without electricity. When I first saw what we would be doing for this activity I literally  didn’t think I would be able to do it. I’m always on my phone or watching tv. I like to fall asleep with my TV on so I knew this would be a challenge. I decided I would just catch up on some homework since I won’t have my phone as a distraction. Then I quickly realized my homework for my film class was to watch a movie and write about it and homework for Art110 required the internet. So instead of doing actual homework I read my Nutrition textbook by candlelight. I have bad eyes so I didn’t last very long reading. I went into my kitchen and got a snack. This was very hard because I couldn’t really tell what I was grabbing. I had to go back to my room and grab my candle so that could see. I finished my snack very quickly since I wasn’t simultaneously checking my Twitter feed. I then asked my mom if she wanted to go on a walk around the neighborhood. After we were done with that it was still pretty early and I wasn’t tired enough to go to sleep. I soon got the best idea. I coach high school cheerleading and their Homecoming is coming up so I decided why not start choreographing their routine. I got half the routine done that night which was really great. I didn’t have anything else to do so I just went to sleep. I wake up in the middle of the night almost every night and when I wake up I always check my phone for the time so I had to make sure my phone was nowhere near my bed.

When I woke up the next morning I was so glad to just check my phone. I couldn’t imagine going another night without electricity. I’m so grateful for the many advancements we’ve made in technology. However, I will say it was nice to actually get things done without being distracted by my phone. I probably will not be trying this out again. I love my phone too much and the Fall TV lineup is back so I need my Grey’s Anatomy and Modern Family.

Leave a Reply

